Log in
Log in

NYSSPS Welcomes its Newest President

November 07, 2017 9:18 AM | Anonymous

On Monday, November 6, 2017 over 70 plastic surgeons, residents, industry partners and staff welcomed Stephen Coccaro, MD as the New York State Society of Plastic Surgeon's newest President at its annual membership dinner meeting at Maloney and Porcelli's Restaurant in NYC.

This meeting continues to be an exclusive opportunity to network with colleagues, policymakers and industry partners. This year's agenda focused on amplifying the physician's voice in healthcare policy and navigating the medical liability environment in New York. 

Stephen F. Coccaro, MD graduated from New York University cum laude and he attended medical school at Upstate Medical Center in Syracuse and Binghampton.

He completed a full general surgery residency at St Barnabas Medical Center in Livingston, NJ before going on to complete a fellowship in plastic surgery at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque.  He is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a senior partner in Suffolk Plastic Surgeons, PC in East Setauket.  He is the Immediate Past President of the medical staff and has served as Chief of Plastic Surgery at St Charles Hospital in Port Jefferson, NY.  He is Clinical Assistant Professor of Surgery at Stony Brook School of Medicine. He is a past president of both the Suffolk County Medical Society and the Suffolk Academy of Medicine.  

Dr. Coccaro has represented Suffolk County at the MSSNY House of Delegates for over 10 years and has chaired its Public Health and Education committee. He is the current chair of MSSNY's Organized Medical Staff Section and has represented it at the AMA annual meetings. He is chairman of Blanca's House, an organization he helped create, to provide health care in Central and South America and has made over 13 medical missions through this and other organizations. He is also very active in his local community being on school and civic boards.  

With his wife Anna, he has three sons and makes his home in Setauket, Long Island.

Induction of Officers took place with the following:  Stephen Coccaro, MD – President; David Greenspun, MD – President-Elect; Thomas Sterry, MD – Vice President; Ash Patel, MD – Secretary; Beth Aviva Preminger, MD – Treasurer; Keith Blechman, MD - Member at Large and Kaveh Alizadeh, MD - Immediate Past President

We welcome the new leadership and look forward to a very successful year ahead! Congratulations!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software